OpTic Gaming Sweeps Call of Duty World Stage 2 Playoffs

The highly suspenseful Call of Duty World League Global Pro League Stage 2 Playoffs, hosted by Major League Gaming Corp. (MLG), has come to a close with OpTic Gaming winning Sunday’s Grand Final.

The eight best Call of Duty teams from around the world competed throughout the weekend, vying for their share of the $500,000 event prize pool and the goal to position themselves heading into the 2017 CWL Championship.

“It’s really crazy how we turned it around,” OpTic Gaming star Seth “Scump” Abner said of his team’s play during CWL Stage 2 following OpTic’s disappointing placement at CWL Anaheim 2017. “We’ve been putting a ton of time in as a team and it’s just great that it showed off. I’m proud of every single one of these guys. Every single one of them stepped up when they needed to.” Scump’s teammate, Matthew “FormaL” Piper, was named CWL Stage 2 MVP following the CWL Stage 2 Playoff trophy presentation.

OpTic Gaming entered Sunday’s Grand Final from the loser bracket, forcing the team to win two separate best-of-five matches against Team EnVyUs to be crowned CWL Stage 2 champions.

Here are the final rankings after the CWL Global Pro League Stage 2 Playoffs:

• 1st – OpTic Gaming
• 2nd – Team EnVyUs
• 3rd – eUnited
• 4th – Luminosity
• 5th/6th – FaZe Clan
• 5th/6th – Fnatic
• 7th/8th – Enigma6
• 7th/8th – Splyce
• 9th/12th – Evil Geniuses
• 9th/12th – Ghost Gaming
• 9th/12th – Red Reserve
• 9th/12th – Cloud9
• 13th/16th – Mindfreak
• 13th/16th – Elevate
• 13th/16th – Rise Nation
• 13th/16th – Epsilon Esports

The CWL continues to heat up as the season draws to a close, culminating with the 2017 CWL Championship in Orlando, FL., August 9-13. Placement at the CWL Global Pro League Stage 2 Playoffs help determine seeding for the upcoming 2017 CWL Championship. At the 2017 CWL Championship, 32 teams will compete for their share of a $1.5 million prize pool, as part of the overall $4 million prize pool for the 2017 CWL season – the largest in Call of Duty esports history. Final seeding for the 2017 CWL Championship has now been released, watch the Live Group Draw Show.

On Thursday, eight teams qualified at the North American Last Chance Qualifiers (LCQ), including Echo Fox, Str8 Rippin and Rogue. These teams now move on to compete for the 2017 Call of Duty World League Championship in Orlando.

The eight qualifying teams from the North American Last Chance Qualifier are:

• 3sUP
• Allegiance
• Echo Fox
• Lethal Gaming
• Projekt Evil
• Rogue
• Str8 Rippin
• Team Kaliber
The CWL Championship General Admission (GA), three-day tickets, are now available online, starting at $53.99 (plus fees and taxes).

Share this GiN Article on your favorite social media network: